May 2016 Favorites: Harry Potter, Simple Makeup + Beyoncé

May is over already?! Well, that’s quite alright with me because that means it’s June (my birthday month) and only 6 more months until Christmas!

This month, I’ve been loving very minimalist makeup, began to re-read the Harry Potter series (again) and made one of childhood dreams come true.

In May, I finished my last semester of Junior year (still can’t believe it) and kicked off the summer with friends and family. I also began my summer school course, an 8:30 am course I might add. This means, I have to get up super early to get ready so dedicating a good twenty minutes to makeup is just impossible; well, it’s possible but I’d rather use that time to sleep in. Who feels me? So, my makeup routine has been very very simple and time friendly.

e.l.f High Definition Powder: My skin looks and feels like it’s been air-brushed with this product. And it made my skin look very radiant and glowy. Perfect look for the summer.

Josie Maran Coconut Watercolor Cheek Gelée + e.l.f Small Stipple Brush: These two products work well together. I use the small stipple brush to pick up some of the watercolor and apply it on my cheeks. Then, I go in with the tool I used for my foundation, whether it be a Beauty Blender or my trustee buffing brush from Real Techniques, and blend it out for a natural finish.

L’Oreal Voluminous Carbon Black Mascara: I have finally found my favorite drugstore mascara (for now)! My lashes feel so full and have no clumps. I was at the mall the other day and went to Sunglass Hut. One of the associates asked me what lashes I was wearing. I told her that they were my real lashes and she asked what mascara I used cause it made them look full and long. It made made day!

Burt’s Bee Lip Balm in Rose: I discovered this product within the last week of May. I don’t have to worry about applying a lipstick or anything in the morning. I just apply this balm to my lips and it gives the perfect amount of color. And it’s hydration. It’s the lip balm that can do it all!

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone: Notice how ripped and loved this book is. I’ve had this book since I was in first grade! This summer, I want to re-read the entire series.

Now let’s get to the best part of the month: SEEING BEYONCÉ AT THE FORMATION WORLD TOUR!

It begin to rain, but that did not stop us from having a good time! Right when Bey was going to come on stop, it poured! There was no drizzle to warn us, but we all had our ponchos ready to go. And thank goodness we did because, it just poured out of no where! We got soaked. All I could hear where the sounds of screams, thunder and heavy rain. I saw lighting and people running for cover. It made the entire stadium concert experience so much more memorable.

I had such a great time, and a dream of mine came true. I’ve been a fan of Beyoncé since I was in third grade. I remember of my mom’s friends bought the Dangerously in Love album and begged my mom to ask her if she could burn it onto a blank CD for me. Getting to see her, listen to her, feel her presence in person made my life. It was a day I dreamed of since  I was eight.

This woman was amazing. I’m sitting here trying to combine the words to describe the concert but it’s hard. The experience just can’t be explained, I am literally speechless.

 

What were your the highlights of your month? Let me know! I love hearing about what everyone did during the month. And we can get to know each other more!

-jess.

4 thoughts on “May 2016 Favorites: Harry Potter, Simple Makeup + Beyoncé”

Leave a Reply

