Nighttime Essentials

There is nothing I love more than a good night’s rest. A good night’s rest starts with your bedtime routine. I’m guilty of spending time on my phone scrolling through feeds while in bed. According to Russel Johnson, MSU assistant professor of management, the light emitted from our smartphones interferes with our body’s level of melatonin, a chemical that promotes sleep. So, instead of spending your night on your phone, here are some things you can use instead for a great night’s rest:

image3(1)

Light a Candle

  • Chloe + Isabel’s Jardin du Midi candle perfectly sets the mood for a peaceful night. It’s blend of Peach Nectar, Bergamot, Jasmine Sambac, White Violet and Vanilla Absolute create the perfect scent. It’s inspired by a midday walk through the lush orchids of southern France but it does just the trick to create a calming ambiance. Send me a message if you are interested in learning more about this product! E-mail info is in the About Me tab.

Treat Your Skin

  • Smooth skin makes you feel fresh and clean and who doesn’t want that before going to bed? The Origins Renewal Serum is a little pampering step in my routine. With the amount of stress I am under for school, this does a great job at renewing my skin. Find a great serum that works for you.
  • It’s Winter here in Chicago and my hands have been hating it. I get extremely dry patches on my hands and found the Burt’s Bees Almond Milk Hand Cream to re-hydrate them. I’ve mentioned this product before and it had quickly become a must have during the cold months.

 

image2(3)

A Journal:

  • This is my favorite thing to do. I write in my journals (almost) everyday and reflect. I write about my ups and my downs, my accomplishments and goals. I write about anything that is on my mind.

A Good Book:

  • I rarely do this but have found in the past to make me quickly fall asleep. I would tell me self to read at least ten pages before going to bed and would fall asleep immediately after putting the book down. I am trying this right now and am re-reading The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

 

What are your nighttime essentials?  Let me know in the comments!

 

Leave a Reply

