My Study Break Playlist + Study Tips

Winter break is over and school is back in session. A new semester means new classes, new books and new schedules. Everything changes, except for my study break playlist. Well, it rarely changes. After hours of hitting the books I like to catch up on e-mails, browse Instagram, and listen to music (with lyrics).

Now, don’t get me wrong I still listen to music while completing assignments or preparing for exams. That’s where music scores or the “Spanish Guitar Station” on Pandora come in to play. But during breaks I like to keep the momentum and state of focus going. My “Study Break Playlist” is soft and relaxed but still a pick-me-up. Granted, there are two songs from a score in the playlist. I also like to listen to the “Ricky Martin Station” on Pandora (I love him, just thought I’d throw that little fact in there). What are some of your favorite study/study break songs? Keep reading for some of my study tips!

My Study Break Playlist:

  1. Home Again by Michael Brook from The Perks of Being a Wallflower (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
  2. Dia Especial (feat. Gustavo Cerati) by Shakira
  3. Heros by David Bowie
  4. Hedwig’s Theme (Hedwig’s Flight) by John Williams from Harry Potter and The Sorcerer’s Stone (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) MY FAVORITE!
  5. Beacon by Two Door Cinema Club
  6. Las de la Intuición by Shakira
  7. Africa by Toto
  8. Charlie Speaks by Michael Brook from The Perks of Being a Wallflower (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
  9. By Your Side by Sade
  10. Clocks by Coldplay
  11. La Pared by Shakira
  12. Isla Bella by Ricky Martin
  13. Breathe by Telepopmusik
  14. Gravity by John Mayer
  15. Labios Rotos by Zoé
  16. Make You Feel My Love by Adele

image1(2)

 

image2(1)

 

image1(4)

 

image2

Study Tips:

  1. Just get started. It so easy to procrastinate and delay assignments but it’s even easier to sit down, open the books and get work! Once you get into the swing of the things, you’ll be focused and productive.
  2.  Take breaksTaking breaks maximizes productivity. I find that studying in one hour blocks and taking 10-20 minute breaks in between helps me stay on track and minimize distractions.
  3. Tackle the hard stuff first. Once you finish the most difficult/most important task on your list you’ll feel as if a weight has been lifted off of your shoulders. Also, you will feel pressured to complete it. The earlier you start an important subject or assignment, the more time you have to process it. You’ll be at ease of knowing the hardest assignment has been completed.
  4. Give your body fuel. I’ve been there. I’ve done that. Sometime I’d skip lunch and munch on nothing but carbs because I made the excuse of, “I don’t have time to eat.” It’s so important to make time. Your brain needs yummy nutrients to absorb all that information you’re reading. If you feel you absolutely need to skip a meal, pack snacks with essential nutrients and vitamins. I like to pack a handful of nuts, a cut up apple and some berries. Find what works for you. Also, don’t forget your water bottle!

-jess.

 

Leave a Reply

